I Blame the Nargles


Yep. Definitely the Nargles.

At  least I think it’s them. They must’ve left the door open when they snuck in last time, because they brought with them the cold dark winter. And as usual, I’ve got the cold dark winter’s  blues.

This year, I noticed the change right away, instead of a week or two into January. The Blues arrived about a week after my return from my nearly five-week adventure down south.

It always amuses me when I hear myself saying “down south” nowadays. That used to be south of the Mason-Dixon Line, the Graceful South, the south where my in-laws live (hi M&M!), down Alabama-way.

Now, “down south” means Syracuse, upstate New York.

Turns out, I wrote several thousand words in those five weeks, much of it organized rather loosely into blog posts. I decided that I needed some help getting back in the saddle, so I am going to post some of the Syracuse Writings (makes me sound like Hemingway, “the Syracuse Period”) along with some current meanderings.

Here’s a short bit to start things off right.

written mid-November, 2015

 Yep….I’m baaaaa-aaack.

Back, as in I have spent the last four-and-a-half weeks away, visiting friends in the States. I have already posted about some of my Rhinebeck adventures; I still have yet more stories to share from my time away.

A busy booth is a happy booth

A busy booth is a happy booth

While I was editing and organizing my notes and photos from the rest of the trip, I discovered a wee treasure-trove: In my list of blog posts were several which had never actually been posted. What, were they unworthy or something? Best guess is that I was experimenting with scheduled posts and I forgot to hit some critical button, such as the “Start” button. Oops.

I must admit that I was puzzled at the lack of comments on these posts, but I have been having computer trouble, so perhaps I blamed the Nargles.

Why, yes, I am playing with my iPhone, why do you ask?

Never trust a Nargle. (I am told Nargles adore purple.)

Some of what I wrote is from weeks ago, however, I think of these posts as “backstory”—the voice is that of Sandi Past, but the words may amuse in some small way.

I will add the tag #backstory to these posts, in case you want to find them again.

Other than that: Yes, my dears, it is high time to revive the CHISPAS, those beloved little sparks of inspiration, laughter, wisdom, or just plain WTF.

CHISPAS

If you are not already familiar with the music of this stunning vocal quartet, please allow me to introduce the work of Pentatonix. Their newest album is filled with Christmas carols both traditional (Little Drummer Boy) and modern (Mary, Did You Know?). Please do not be put off by the Christian wrapper; give a listen for the soaring harmonies and the wonder of music created wholly without instruments (at least in these videos).

Dear Doritos Lovers: Don’t Say I Never Gave You A Chispa.

I stole the title of this post from one of my fave yarn colours at Holiday Yarns: I Suspect the Nargles Are Behind It.

 

From Jen at Holidayyarns.com

From Jen at Holidayyarns.com

About sandi

Knitter. Spinner. Quilter. UFO Wrangler. Sometime bead artist and weaver. 2 year-old kittens, 1 permakitten, 2 grownup cats, 1 beloved dog angel, 1 spouse, 1 crazy life. I suppose that the 5 cats make me 1 crazy cat lady; OTOH, apparently, yes, I do need that much feline supervision.
This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I Blame the Nargles

  1. mpcsixty says:

    Hi back! Lovely yarn!

    Marilyn Cepeda Mobile Alabama

    >

  2. Barbara says:

    I sure wish you would write once a week. I really miss your regular posts. They were always a high point of my week. Stay strong against the winter darks!

    • sandi says:

      Hi Barbara!
      It’s well into January, and I am re-reading posts so I don’t repeat myself too often! I am glad I found this comment, because I wanted you to know that you are one of my inspirations for trying to write more often these days. So far, I’ve written about a post a month, give or take…I, too, wish I could get back to writing once a week! Thank you for the encouragement. When I press “Publish Post”, I now say, “Here you go, Barbara!” 🙂

  3. Karen Maley says:

    Nargles love purple, eh? That explains a lot. I’m using my light in “sunny” Nova Scotia. Cheers.

  4. Joan Houck says:

    Love the yarn and Petonix. Hubby found them a couple of years back when they did a version of Imagine Dragons Radioactive. Their Christmas stuff is great though…it’s on my Ipod.

Leave a Reply

