Three Bags Full


Hello, Spring!

Spring is gently sneaking up upon us here.

front flowerbed spring

It snuck up so gently, in fact, that I have not had a chance to whack back the rose branches overhanging the walkway. (The post person is not amused.)

This is our first spring in this house, and it seems as though every day or so, we get a new Garden Surprise: flowers, or buds, or simply leaves which I know will become flowers.

I had no idea that these would be blooming under the vent:

rock w redwht tulips

As for surprises, I got another surprise this week, in form of a quite-full grocery bag.

little bag

One of my fellow choir members at church (let’s call her Mary) came to Sunday warm-ups with a good-sized grocery bag, stuffed to the gills. Mary asked me if I “did weaving”, and I replied with a puzzled “Yes…?” She looked down at the bright yellow bag in her hands, and told me that a friend of hers (“Agnes”) had been given a bag full of “weaving materials” by some generous soul. Agnes doesn’t weave, however, and in fact knows nothing about weaving. Nevertheless, someone had given Agnes the bag of weaving materials, as Mary said: “Because Agnes was so crafty” and because Agnes “would surely know what to do with it”.

Curious what sort of “weaving materials” the bag might contain, I opened it and found this:

little bag insides

That is about 2 lbs of beautifully carded (if slightly matted from being in the plastic bag for a while), hand-dyed wool and silk, with bits of silk noil and wool tweed mixed in. If I had to guess, I would say that the fibre is either BFL (Bluefaced Leicester, for those who don’t know) or something close. The blend is about 80% BFL, and 20% silk, somewhere around there.

LeeAnnebflsheep6

Bluefaced Leicester lambs

In other words, this is two pounds of truly gorgeous fluff. (And m&th-free, fortunately.) I just sort of stood there with my mouth open, fondling the roving. Mary asked, “So, is this something you can use? Like in your weaving?”

I struggled not to laugh too much. “Oh, yes. I can definitely put this to good use. But it’s not weaving stuff, it’s wool for making yarn, using my spinning wheel.” (Spindles seemed just too far outside her fence, I could tell.) “This will make lovely sweater yarn, and there’s plenty here to make enough for a sweater. Would your friend like me to spin the yarn and then give the yarn back to her so she can knit with it?”

Mary: “Oh, Agnes doesn’t knit, or do anything like that. She wouldn’t have a use for the yarn. She’ll just be happy to get rid of it, to give it to someone who will enjoy it.”

I began to thank Mary for the bag of lovely fluff, and she put a hand on my arm, smiling at me.

SleepySheepy-300x165

Rosie, age 7, thinks her year-old sibling Naboo makes a perfect pillow. Both are BFLs.

“Well, yes, I am pleased you want this bag, but this isn’t the bag I was talking about. Sorry, I must have been unclear.”

“What do you mean?”

“This isn’t the bag Agnes wants me to give to you. It’s just a sample so I could show you without having to drag in the rest of it.”

(A bit of worry creeps into my brain.) “The rest of it?”

“Why, yes, that’s what I was trying to tell you. There are another two bags, bigger bags, of this same stuff. Agnes says you can have the whole lot if you can use it.”

(carefully:) “How big are the other bags?”

“Oh, Agnes figures if she packs it firmly, she can get those two bags stuffed into a bag the size of one of those 32-gallon trash bags, just so it is easier to carry.”

big bag

(Easier to carry a 32-gal stuffed-with-fluff bag? Easier than what, exactly?)

Patiently, Mary asks, “So…do you want the rest of it? It is quite a large bag, perhaps even one of those giant leaf/yard bags.”

A bit shellshocked, I answer with the only sensible reply possible: “Of course I want the rest!”

I think the big garden bag full o’ fluff weighs about 10 lbs.

big bag insides

Give or take.

Next Question

What the heck am I going to do with about 12 pounds of lovely BFL/silk roving?

I don’t know yet, but methinks it will be great fun to figure that out.

Suggestions, of course, are more than welcome.  🙂

Until Next Time

I know, no chispas, boooo. (“Chispa”, for those new to the blog, means “spark” in Spanish. Over the years I have regularly posted a few links to articles or images which I hope will be “little sparks of inspiration” for you.

Coming up: New Patterns in my Rav store! I am pretty excited about this. I just put the finishing touches on my new template, and will be formatting PDFs and posting them soon. I will also post them here, of course, so you get the first look!

IMG_0252

Tessa says:
Don’t let all those sweet breezes, bright flowers, and sunny blue skies get you down, you hear?
 😉

About sandi

Knitter. Spinner. Quilter. UFO Wrangler. Sometime bead artist and weaver. Almost 2-yr-old kittens, 1 permakitten, 2 grownup cats, 1 beloved dog angel, 1 spouse, 1 crazy life. I suppose that the 5 cats make me 1 crazy cat lady; OTOH, apparently, yes, I do need that much feline supervision.
This entry was posted in Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Three Bags Full

  1. InJuneau says:

    Many sweaters?

  2. laineyhf says:

    Lovely! What a wonderful surprise to come your way!

  3. Jerri says:

    Love your garden. And of course the purple…

  4. Kathy says:

    What an amazing surprise for you! Bringing a smile to all of our faces, too. Angel wants you to tell Tessa that she says hello. 🙂

  5. MrsCraft says:

    Wow! That’s a lot of ‘fluff’. I’m no spinner but I’d be tempted to kearn if I was given that. Enjoy making a project with it all. 😊

  6. Barbara says:

    You certainly have enough roving to keep you spinning for a while. You could always do a special giveaway of a nice skein to one of your faithful minions….

    • Tamara says:

      Excellent idea Barbara! 🙂

      I can’t believe someone went to all the trouble to dye all that roving and then just leave it?? Someone must have died.

      Perhaps needle-felting? Or plain felting? You could make an enormous felt ‘poster’ (wall hanging?) for your church out of all of that. The options are endless.

  7. Kelly H says:

    Oh my! I feel a bit faint at the very idea of 12 lbs of beautiful, m&th-free, purple, bfl+silk!
    Give me a moment…

    Ok. Sweaters for you and Melody? A blanket? Socks for ALL the people in your neughbourhood, delivered anonymously in the dark of night? Long underwear? Giveaway? Car cozy?

    *Aside, do you think the tulips are blooming early because of the vent? I have a boring bit of grass under my vent… maybe I should try bulbs? What colour bulbs might match the occasional bit of dryer fluff that decorates said grass?

  8. Carol Ann Burden says:

    How amazing, what gorgeous fluff! Your universe is open to new and wonderfully soft purple things – dream on and let us in every now and then to see the ongoing process!

Leave a Reply

