Good Grief. I Finished Something.


Yes I did! I actually sort of finished something. Well, OK. I finished one part of something: I finished appliquéing the tree to the quilt top! WOOT!

img_7009

It’s so colourful and happy: Hooray!

I also ripped out about 90% of the basting stitches. There are a few places where seam allowances were wonkified (technical term) and raw edges show, but a bit of needle and thread action at a later point will clear those right up.

Lately, I have been breaking big projects like this one down into sets of major tasks, and writing down those individual tasks in my Doomed-To-Do List. I like to celebrate the completion of each of these steps in my projects, seeing as the completions of the projects themselves happen so rarely. So: Hooray for Progress! Again, I say: WOOT!

HOWEVER: This was not the productivity I was looking for.

It is now Saturday, 7¬†days before Christmas Eve. My List of To Do or Doom is whining at me, tapping its¬†watch and thinking of unkind words to say to Yours Truly. ¬†Despite my one step forward above, more unfinished tasks intended for this weekend are yelling at me from the List of Doom. I have not¬†done the laundry, nor finished cleaning the Great Room so we can finish decorating the tree and fireplace tomorrow after church. I haven’t gotten in touch with my Rav friends, nor called my mother.

I also, quite frankly, did not even Achieve Lunch. My one cup of coffee from this morning is three-quarters full, and I have warmed it up twice so far. (And I am about to head into the kitchen for WarmUp Number Three.)

img_7010

Beau-ti-mous Blanket Stitching and a few inches of basting stitches to take out

 

I ¬†was also hoping to make the quilt sandwich today, and to work on some family gifts, but Stuff Happened,¬†it’s¬†after five PM already, and I haven’t touched gifts nor¬†quilt yet. It’s not like¬†I have been sitting here with my bonbons and bunny slippers, either. I have done several other rather needed things today, but nothing on the list, see, nothing that I planned to do. And somehow…somehow not getting things done that I had planned on doing makes me feel grumpy and unproductive.

Granted: It is probably silly to feel unproductive after unpacking and sorting through five (large!) boxes of winter clothes from the basement. (Yes! I did! I will take a celebratory Woot Lap for this!) And guess what: I found sweaters! my favourite down vest! two great winter skirts! and my beautiful blue fancy dress!‚Äďbut The Grumpified Sandi says that doesn’t get me any closer to crossing things off the existing List o’ Doom.¬†(Shush, Grump-√©d One.)

I kind of want a do-over. ONE WEEK¬†until Christmas Eve, and all that. (Somehow, I have a feeling I am not alone in wishing this…)

Onwards and Forwards and
All Anyone Can Do is Keep Going, Right?

Right. The good news is that it is not even 5:30 PM yet, so I still have a few hours in which to accomplish things today.

Next Up for The Advent Tree Quilt

I have the backing and batting ready to go. Once I finish the few bits of raw-edge mending that need doing, I am going to take a fabric pencil eraser to a few spots where the markings show too much, and after that, I will press the top into submission.

img_7014

Twinkle, Twinkle, Prairie Star…

Then comes the Sandwiching, and the Basting, and then the Quilting. And finally, the Binding. (Hm. I haven’t even thought about the binding yet. Sew bias binding from the scraps of all the many fabrics? Use a wide satin Christmas ribbon of some sort? Oooo, maybe candy-cane striped binding on the bias! Pondering must happen.)

Once all that is done, I can sew on the vintage buttons on which the wee ornaments will hang, and stitch on the pockets for ornament storage. And make a hanging sleeve or tabs or something. (Tabs. I like that idea.)

Will it be done then? Let’s get there first and see how it looks.

Look what I made for you!
A little slideshow tutorial showing you
how I made the pockets for my Advent Tree Quilt:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

 

Why, yes, I do feel rather clever now, thanks for asking.

Yes, this is an Advent Calendar Christmas Tree Quilt. Yes, I know it is December 16  December 17. I would like to finish the basic bones of this by next week, hopefully in time to be able to celebrate the last few days of Advent with my little happy Advent Tree on the wall.

One can dream.

Knitting? What’s That?

OH….yes. I remember now. Knitting.

I have also Done Knitting in the past week or so. A sock that now has a toe. Some more rows on the Red Sweater.

We can talk about the Knitting later, OK?

Be kind to yourselves. That’s what you advised me to do in your comments, so I am turning that wonderful idea right back at y’all. Thank you for all that you do for me!

Also: Merry! I love the holidays. xxoo

 

About sandi

Knitter. Spinner. Quilter. UFO Wrangler. Sometime bead artist and weaver. 2 year-old kittens, 1 permakitten, 2 grownup cats, 1 beloved dog angel, 1 spouse, 1 crazy life. I suppose that the 5 cats make me 1 crazy cat lady; OTOH, apparently, yes, I do need that much feline supervision.
This entry was posted in Appliqué, Making Things, Quilting. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Good Grief. I Finished Something.

  1. Deb says:

    Love the tree quilt. Someone is taking the days off the calendar. Shouldn’t it be December 3or4? Don’t worry. That’s easy for me to say. I haven’t even begun to do my shopping. Stay calm…
    AND HAPPY HOLIDAYS TO YOU,

  2. Kelly H says:

    Key to feeling better about productivity is making a list of the things you’ve done, not the things you haven’t done yet! (though I suppose that a “To Do” list is necessary sometimes) It’s much more encouraging to do an “I Did” list, though!
    Merry Merry!

  3. InJuneau says:

    I finished a cowl (that I designed in a class at a knitting retreat!) for my sister and delivered it to the Alaska-to-Yukon transit person. Now for the rest of getting ready for Christmas…

  4. Tamara says:

    Sandy, I have the same struggles that you do, with everything. Please know you are loved and cherished by your readers, family and friends, who don’t care that you haven’t accomplished your To-Do list, but that you did have an “I Did” list, as genius Kelly H. above suggested.

    So glad to read your words again. Happiest of Holidays to you and Melody, and the furball family. ‚̧

  5. elaine says:

    ūüôā
    It’s just beautiful and I love the idea! Just maybe next year I can drag out the ole sewing machine… Merry Christmas, Sandy!
    Heading off to… keep going. The knitting is calling.

  6. Holly says:

    Quite a lovely heirloom you are creating, and thank you for including the video on how you made the pockets. You’ve been a very busy Elf. Merry Christmas to you and yours.

  7. Well done. It looks lovely

  8. Kare says:

    Beautiful! One step at a time. And you unpacked a box, things are getting done.

    Merry Christmas.

  9. Lee says:

    Dear Sandi, a couple of thoughts.

    First, definitely congratulations are in order for finishing the applique portion of the quilt. It’s gorgeous!

    Also – and I got this from someone else, but it has proved very helpful – if it bothers you that Things on The List are not getting done, put down all those things you did today when Stuff Happened, on The List, and promptly cross them off. You will then see how much progress you made today. It’s mind games, but for some reason it works when that nasty little voice pops up to accuse you of not getting things done.

    Blessings on you and yours ~~

  10. Carole Holdahl says:

    Stunning Sandi! Absolutely stunning!

  11. Ruth Ellen says:

    So good to hear from you again, Sandi.
    When my to-do list isn’t getting shorter because I’m doing other very needful things (like sorting winter clothes) I add the tasks I’ve finished to the list and cross them out. It really helps me to see that I HAVE been doing something, just not what was originally on the list. All those other things that we do everyday matter too, so put them on the list and affirm what’s been accomplished.

  12. Barbara says:

    I’ve got boxes in the basement I haven’t gone into in the 8 yrs since we moved in! I’d rather sit & knit. So good for you. You’ve emptied a box and completed your quilt top! Christmas blessings to you and yours.

Leave a Reply

