The Quilt


Ten minutes ago, I opened a box that came in the mail. It’s a thundery sort of day, pouring down rain by the bucketful; our wonderful postal worker Angie dashed from her vehicle to our door with the box covered by her clipboard so that it wouldn’t get too wet. (It didn’t.)

Melody brought the box into the kitchen where I was having coffee, and said, what’s this? I looked at it quickly, and replied that I had no idea. She went off to the city for an appointment; I got caught up in pattern writing, forgetting about the package until I went into the kitchen for a late lunch.

gorgeous rainbow quilt (29 colours)

That is what was in the box. Yes, it is handmade, by a friend on the (U.S.) East Coast. Enclosed was a card signed by a crowd of my Ravelry friends from (literally) around the globe. In addition to chipping in for the fabric for the quilt, they’d made a donation to a charity they knew I would like.

The card was of the “Get Well Soon, We Miss You” category. Due to illness, I haven’t been able to play on Rav (nor anywhere else online, including my blog) for going on for three months now. I’ve poked my head in now and then, but mostly I’ve been a bit busy dealing with being sick. It’s been kind of awful to be away from my Rav friends; sometimes, on bad days, my lonely and pain-addled mind has gone to dark places: What if they mean more to me than I mean to them? Would anyone notice if I was on the forum or not? Even if they did notice, would they care?

It can take weeks, even months, to plan and make a quilt this size; especially if the maker has a demanding full-time job, or, say, is in school. As quilter myself, I know full well this isn’t one of those Mile-A-Minute projects (“You can start this on Friday night and have it ready to give to the mom-to-be at Monday’s office baby shower!” Yeah. Nope.) So. I guess I have my answer. Folks noticed. And they definitely care. More than I knew.

My gratitude defies words.

The box is a bit wet now. Well, the quilt is too; it’s actually damp in one corner. Sorry about that, but tears are like that. They fall where they will; and one has a tendency to grab the nearest soft bit of cloth with which to dry them. In this case, I was sitting with the quilt all scrunched up in my arms, burying my face in it, so really, the tears had no where else to go.

My wish for the world is that everyone have friends like these.

I hug you all.
Sandi

About sandi

Knitter. Spinner. Quilter. UFO Wrangler. Sometime bead artist and weaver. 2 year-old kittens, 1 permakitten, 2 grownup cats, 1 beloved dog angel, 1 spouse, 1 crazy life. I suppose that the 5 cats make me 1 crazy cat lady; OTOH, apparently, yes, I do need that much feline supervision.
This entry was posted in Knitting. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to The Quilt

  1. Filatura says:

    💝

  2. Nufflebutt says:

    😃❤️😃

  3. Kariina says:

    I am no longer on The Yurt but I have missed your blog emails. Very glad you are feeling better and that you have such amazing friends who let you know in a wonderful way how much you mean to them.

  4. Holly says:

    A lovely hug from friends every time you hold it close. ❤️

  5. Angie says:

    Welcome back, I’ve missed your writing. I’m convinced you could write about anything at all and I’d be glued to my screen. Sending good wishes for a speedy recovery.

  6. InJuneau says:

    I miss you, and I haven’t been around Rav much lately either. House stuff (having major work done this summer which entailed moving EVERYTHING away from windows–so many books, so much yarn and fiber, so much stuff!) and health stuff too (surgery in 12 days; weeks of recovery; maybe I’ll catch up on Rav…). While cleaning the house, I found something I’ve been meaning to send for 2 years… 😉

  7. Jerri says:

    What a beautiful rainbow of colors! Hope you are felling better. Know that your blogs are appreciated and missed when they don’t happen.

  8. Lee says:

    What a lovely, tangible expression of their feelings for you! Know that you are loved, Sandi, by so many who may not express themselves as well but who also think of you often.

  9. knitwit56 says:

    Beautiful. Like you.

  10. Sylvia Dresser says:

    I’ve been reading your writings since you “were” Knitting Daily – I miss them when you aren’t posting – you express yourself so beautifully, plus I’ve learned a few words, like Embiggen … I appreciate it when you can write, and have a lot of empathy for the times when you can’t. I wasn’t part of the quilt making group, but I suspect I’m not alone when I say that there are many of us whose feelings might be expressed by the quilt/card in absentia.

  11. jesst says:

    I haven’t been posting much, but read. And we do miss you.

Leave a Reply

