moose post and dog snow angels


I’m not sure I know what I am getting myself into here, but it seems I have set up a post box so you can send me bits of handspun to be made into a blanket.

P.O. Box 26
Bolton, ON L7E 5T1
Canada

It’s a small post box, waaayyy back in the far corner of the cute little postal station. I’ve been thinking about getting one for a long time, because one doesn’t always want to give out one’s home address for everything, and I seem to have a lot of Everythings these days. So now I have a post box for Everything PLUS yarn. It’s all good.

I had to be talked into this whole yarn thing, I admit. By several folks. One of them being Nicholas, who just looked at me and said very firmly, “You are NOT going to say no to all those nice people.” (Um. Yes, dear. I mean, No, dear.)

My own handspun (fibre by Spunky Eclectic)

You do realize this will take a while, right? I mean. I have six gadjillion WIPs, and I knit on about two-thirds of them every single week…meaning that each one takes longer to finish. So a knitted blanket is gonna be Long Term.

A long-term project I’d be completely bonkers to say no to. A long-term project I’d be more than honoured to work on and post photos of and share with you all. (I’m going to make my own version of this.)

Seaming progress

But something occurs to me here, and really, in the end, this is why I’m agreeing to you folks sending me your handspun: Seems to me that a week or so ago, I asked you to send me your stories so I could get to know you better…and within a couple of days, the offers to send me skeinlets of handspun yarn started flooding in.

There is a reason that “yarn” is another word for “story.” Not everyone is a writer, not everyone wants to sit down and put their lives into a few short paragraphs. But we’re People of the Yarn, we knitters and weavers and spinners, and we tell our stories in merino and silk and fleece and weft and stockinette, in the twists on our spindles and the warps we wind.

In sending me your yarns, of course it really IS your stories you are sending me…in skeinlet form.

Thank you. I’m not completely sure what I’m getting myself into here, but I think that’s true of many of the best things in life.

In other news, the post office workers refer to me as “The Yarn Lady” now, because that’s what I’m always writing on the customs forms.

Rhythms

Living in Canada has taught me so much, not the least of which is the fact that scarves are not, despite whatever Hollywood might think, simply a fashion accessory. (I swear I did not know that they actually served a purpose before I moved to snow country. They always just seemed to be hot and in the way. Now I don’t leave home without one six months out of the year.)

One thing I never really expected to learn was that life has a natural rhythm to it, a rhythm that we in the industrialized world fight against nearly every moment of every day. In San Diego, there really are seasons, despite what folks think; they are just very subtle. In Canada, though, seasons are impossible to ignore. Sitting here at just after 4 PM on a wintery February afternoon, I’m looking out at snow that hasn’t stopped falling for well over twelve hours; two feet (at least) in my front yard; and a dark grey sky that looks like nothing I could have imagined during my San Diego days. This is normal for up here around the 43rd parallel. But the dark cold days make one want to curl up and hibernate, not run around and be busily productive.

In the First World, we’re supposed to push against Nature, to chain her up and defy her wisdom. We’re supposed to try to be just as energetic in winter as in spring; we’re supposed to work 8 to 5 even if we’re not morning people.

Canada has taught me about Extreme Weather Days: Days where the weather is literally so bad that the Powers That Be warn folks to stay off the roads, stay inside, make sure you have emergency food, blankets, and water in your car at all times. Weather here is no joke; there are days when despite heroic efforts, human stuff just has to stop and wait for Nature to finish what she’s doing.

Our wood nymph gets a wig

Chronic pain or illness has seasons as well. Sometimes you feel fabulous; sometimes you have to slow down in order to weather the storms.

Seasons force you to constantly re-evaluate Who The Boss is, and what’s really important in life. Your task list can be chock-full of Important! and High Priority! items…and yet if there’s a big winter storm coming, and the power goes out, and your car’s snowed in, then those Important! things have to take a back seat for a while.

That’s when you learn to admire the way the snow makes wigs for the bare trees. That’s when you discover that the snowflakes on your arm really do look like the ones in the Hallmark cards. And that’s when you discover that dogs can make snow angels, too.

The deep holes you see are where Buddy stuck his muzzle in while he sculpted this snow angel (click to embiggen)

Random Goods and Sillies

Great animals-with-personality pictures: Logan the dog. Emma the cat. Keira the cat. And Logan: The Puppy Pictures. All these furfolk are members of the same family, with captivating photos are by FatOrangeCat Studios.

Clever knitter who does not need to carry her chart around.

The Wool Boat. Selling yarn on the water. In a boat. (No charge if it falls in?)

Tim has good taste.

Tim snuggles on handwoven fabric made from handspun yarns

This is what I’m spinning right now. Spindle is a Bosworth Moosie; fibre is Glitterpigeon by AbbysYarns.

I have stories for next time. Your stories, I mean, not just mine.

About sandi

Knitter. Spinner. Quilter. UFO Wrangler. Sometime bead artist and weaver. Two toddler-age kittens, 1 permakitten, 2 grownup cats, 1 beloved dog angel, 1 spouse, 1 crazy life. I suppose that the 5 cats make me 1 crazy cat lady; OTOH, apparently, yes, I do need that much feline supervision.
This entry was posted in Prayer Flag Project and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to moose post and dog snow angels

  1. Jennigma says:

    do you have requests for weight? Can we pre-knit the squares for you?

    Like

  2. Gloria19 says:

    Buddy makes the bestest snow angels.
    Thanks for the reminder about living by
    the season. I try but sometimes life gets
    in the way. I think that I will take a snow day tomorrow when it is supposed to reach only 12F in lovely Loveland, CO if it snows
    as well which it is supposed to do. 🙂

    Like

  3. naomi says:

    Nice charting trick!

    Like

  4. Diane says:

    I spy “Twilight” in Organic Merino, yes? That should be the January 2009 colorway. I only remember this because it was my first handspun into FO – and I made an Adamas Shawl. I love that shawl. I’m more proud of that shawl than anything else, ever. I made me feel like I really was a Person of the Yarn. Thanks for that memory, Sandi.

    Like

  5. georg says:

    Lady, you have many WIPs. May I send you a knit square instead of the handspun? I would save you time in this manner, although I may not be square or perfectly to gauge.

    Like

  6. Lynn says:

    Hi. I wish I had time to say more. Because you know there’s a lot more.

    Like

  7. InJuneau says:

    I love Buddy’s snow angel. And you for saying yes to skeinlets (and now I must figure out which one(s) to send you). And Tim for loving handcrafted fabrics.

    Like

  8. Mardi says:

    Olaf loves the snow angel and is jealous, he would lkve to bave so much snow to roll in. And dayum, I just left home, where all of fhe handspun is, but I will send some as SOON as I get back. If someone reminds me…

    And where do you find things like that yarn barge? Wonderful!

    Like

  9. Pat says:

    Great post! I love how you mix deep reflections with crazy humor!

    Like

  10. Rachel says:

    in keeping with several others — may I knit a square (or is the purpose for YOU to knit our handspun as a way of getting to know us?)

    either way is good, I’m still working on learning to spin so this is encouragement to get in there and spindle

    Like

  11. Laura says:

    I’m glad you accepted gifts for others. I think accepting gifts makes us better givers, at least sometimes.
    I’m sad I’m not a spinner. Maybe if this truly does become a long term project for you I will have learned how to spin (decently!) before you’re done. 🙂
    How’s that for a crazy optimistic twist?

    Like

  12. molly says:

    yes, laura is quite correct – sometimes we learn how to be a better giver by allowing ourselves to receive, with joy, with grace, with thanks – and a little bit of wonder that someone would care enough about/for us to want to give us something of themselves!
    and it’s a pretty nice lesson!
    i would send you some handspun…but as yet i have not learned to spin, despite my sister’s bullying – oops, i mean gentle encouragement!
    cheers

    Like

  13. Marea says:

    What “size” is the handspun you are using for the project? I did your shawlette with some of my finest 2-ply laceweight and it’s even more gossamer than yours. Beautiful. I can make multi-ply for this.

    Like

  14. Joan Griffith says:

    Sandi! I have missed you for such a long time, since you stopped doing the Knit Daily newsletter. I accidentally found you on Interweave’s web site. I have been retired for a year and just getting into knitting. Finding all sorts of yarn in my stashes. What is funny is, now I’m not working, donno what to do with what I make… I’ll find someone tho. I had been buying yarn for a long time against the day I retired, and now it is a fun surprise to find yarn I forgot about, under the bed, in cupboards, in the attic, lol. I finished a UFO just yesterday, a little garterstitch neck scarf, and now I plan to do one in lace. Hope to learn to make socks, too. I have some alpaca fiber and I want to spin it, but can’t quite figure out the drop spindle. It looks like you make a thread, then just wrap it around the spindle?? I enjoyed your pet comments. My family is from Western Maryland, where the snow gets deep in winter and this morning it was (with wind chill) like 7 below zero. I just had to sign over my beloved Siamese to the veterinarian because I could not pay for surgery to save her life–$1900. I want her to live, but oh dear, it is so awful, I wonder if they would try that over a human child. Of course not! But I’m retired & I don’t have resources. Still, you cheered me up on this miserable day, and I thank you for that.

    Like

Leave a comment