the delights of sunshine and yarn


As usual after a week away, I’m spending an entire day trying to put my brain back in my skull, put my clothes back in their drawers, and find my size 7 circulars.

I’m so grateful to see the sun.

SO GRATEFUL. I got super-daring and turned off the heat (!!!!!) and opened a few windows. (If there’s a blizzard tomorrow, it’s officially my fault.)

The Bits And Bobs

I haven’t quite gotten my act back together yet after the trip. I was bouncing off the walls after I got home last night, and I’m afraid I quite talked Sir Nicholas’ ears off. “Babble babble STUDENTS babble babble they said babble and then this one woman said babble and I figured out how to answer it this way and then babble babble YARN babble” and it pretty much went on like that for a couple of hours.

I’m glad he loves me, otherwise I’m guessing it would pretty much be a way to drive someone straight to Crackersville.

There was a tiny market there, and I bought yarn.

That, my pretties, is “Lorikeet” sock yarn, in merino-cashmere-and-does-it-really-matter-what-else? The dyer is Jill Draper, and she and her boothmate Cal Patch were two of my favourite New Things from this weekend. Cal and Jill are the kind of people that I just want to have tea with every week because they are genuine, funny, and wildly creative. (More about Cal and Jill later. They made a big impression on me.)

I love that Jill calls her business “Jill Makes Stuff” because when I was a wee person, and someone in the family was looking for me around the house, the constant refrain was “Sandi? Oh, she’s over there making stuff.”

I also bought this from her, which is “Lipstick”:

I took those photos on Jen’s (Holiday Yarns) deck, where there was a slight breeze blowing. At least, I thought it was a “slight” breeze, until that skein above started rocking back and forth as I was trying to get a good photo of it. The ground is fifteen feet below, and what you can’t see is that there is a big squishy mud puddle right underneath that lovely rosy yarn.

The skein teetered and tottered in the wind, but my little grabby paw was right there ready to rescue it from becoming Muddy Lipstick.

I also bought these from Candace-whose-business-card-hasn’t-turned-up-yet-mea-culpa:

…because a girl can never have too many pairs of lovely handmade earrings.

The yarn in the background is Jen’s DK BFL yarn in “Graple” which she is about to rename “Sandi Needs A Purple Intervention” because at one point in the weekend, I had all six skeins of freshly-dyed Graple (2 in DK, 2 in sock, 2 in SILVER sock, be still my heart) laid out in front of me, calculator in hand, trying to figure out how much it would cost to buy all six of them. (I realized that I knew the dyer, and could actually ask for a custom batch all of my very own if I wanted one, and that it really wouldn’t be fair to the other kids who were too shy to ask for custom dye jobs who might want some pretty purple yarn, so I was Good and didn’t buy any of them and thus, I Shared With The Other Kids.)

I bought this bright! cranberry! red! bump of BFL roving from Spinner’s Hill:

What do you mean, you can’t see it because there’s a cat in the way?

And then I saw these in Susan’s Yarn Cupboard booth.

Oh, no. Look. Purple. What a shame, that poor purple yarn was ALL ALONE (in the middle of about a thousand other skeins of luscious yarn), and so I had to take it home. It’s from Great Adirondack Yarn, and it’s cotton/bamboo. The fuschia yarn is also Great Adirondacks, and it’s merino.

Except now it is also this, which is the beginnings of Watershed.

(What, you want me to FOCUS and finish something? Wrong blog, kiddos. Woooo!)

What I Want To Wear Before I Grow Up

Hand-painted cowboy boots.

And yes, I was literally down on my knees in front of the wearer, who turned out to be Patti Subick, the gracious and stunning genius dyer behind Great Adirondack Yarn.

Who needs a business card when you are wearing something like this?

…click to properly view the splendour…

Freeform knitting. She dyed all of it. Yes, those are beads and sequins on some of it.

The coat is gobsmackingly beautiful in person; and realize that even though I love sparkle, I usually like it in moderation. This coat, however, was so artfully done that it was elegant rather than over-the-top, just like all Patti’s yarns. These yarns aren’t novelty yarns, they are art yarns, and they’re gorgeous.

Your Yarns

I also was given some lovely handspun yarns for the Prayer Flag Project…but it’s clouded over now (SEE!? I shouldn’t have opened those darn windows!!!) and so let’s wait until it brightens up a bit so I can show them off properly. Thank you to everyone who came up to me with a wee skein in your hand!

More?

Yes, there was more. I taught and loved it. I spoke on Friday night and that was great fun. I got to hang out with awesome people, and that was The Best.

Sunday morning, I did something new. I took a dye workshop from Jennifer VanCalcar, who besides being my friend, is a kickarse dyer and teacher.

But that tale, and those photos, will have to wait until tomorrow, because if I don’t feed the cats NOW there will be a riot.

Until then, here’s a tiny taste of the joy of dyeing yarn.

Chispas (“sparks”)

Everyone needs an editor.

A knitted TARDIS blanket. (Because everyone needs a TARDIS blanket, too.)

oops! gotta go! riot in progress! aghhhhhhhh!

About sandi

Knitter. Spinner. Quilter. UFO Wrangler. Sometime bead artist and weaver. 2 year-old kittens, 1 permakitten, 2 grownup cats, 1 beloved dog angel, 1 spouse, 1 crazy life. I suppose that the 5 cats make me 1 crazy cat lady; OTOH, apparently, yes, I do need that much feline supervision.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to the delights of sunshine and yarn

  1. Heather says:

    Heehee!! It was a blast. Can’t recommend it enough!

  2. molly says:

    enjoying your recounting of your adventures! looking forward to the next installment…glad you’re home and that you rescued that poor, lonely, purple yarn!
    cheers
    molly

  3. Pat says:

    and you were worried. Hurrah for fun times, and things being better than you expected, and sunshine and purple. The mini cardigan is very very tempting. Enjoy!

  4. Bonnie says:

    All of the yarn you scored is beautiful, but Lorikeet is my favorite. GORGEOUS! I’m glad you had a great time!

  5. Christina says:

    I absolutely love all the purple yarns! Don’t know what I’d do with it other then run my hands over it……. :). Miss your blog on knitting daily.

  6. Pat says:

    I think that I’ve fallen in love with the Watershed. I checked it out on Ravelry but thought that I would risk asking an experienced (AKA master) knitter/crafter (you) how difficult is this pattern? I always get burned with patterns. I’ve written to your former employer several times and said that they should get someone who knits at a beginner level or at least advanced beginner level to make sure that the “easy” patterns are really easy. My favorite on-line knitting magazine has the same problem, or rather I have the same problem with it.

    It looks like a great summer project; not too heavy, not too big but my winter and spring have been pretty tough and it appears to be knit in one piece (little to no sewing), true?.

  7. cal says:

    it was SO FUN meeting you too Sandi! you were a breath of fresh air and i loved your advice about fit and shaping. hope to see you again in Toronto later this month, or at Squam! i’ll be at Lettuce’s knit night on the 27th…

  8. Seanna Lea says:

    You picked up some glorious yarns there. Nothing wrong with your purple selection that I can see!

Leave a Reply

