i can knit if i want to


Apparently, I like to knit. Who knew?

I say this, because lately, I’ve been noticing odd, back-away-from-the-crazy-lady looks on the faces of those who enter my house. Neighbours, repairfolk, CSA members, a local minister. They step in the front door, and their eyes widen, and they stop right there in the doorway, with an expression on their faces that says: “I’m not entirely certain I want to proceed further into this house.”

You expect that sort of reaction to be engendered by the front rooms of hoarders, for example, or those who keep large boa constrictors as sofa pets. But, really, truly: I am neither of those. What one sees when one enters my front door is this.

click to embiggen

OK, so maybe it looks a wee bit hoarder-ish, what with the bins of fibre and the stacks of yarn and all. And perhaps, to the non-spinner, perhaps three spinning wheels seems looney, particularly when most folk have never even seen ONE spinning wheel up-close-and-personal. Add to that scenario the three-legged dog who is likely to be licking your kneecaps, and the one-eyed cat regarding you thoughtfully from the top shelf, and sure, I grant you: We’re an odd household.

But entirely harmless, I assure you.

Today, I am picking up the house, and just as a lark, I thought I’d chronicle the projects-in-progress I have scattered here and there as I tidy things up.

Front room:
Lendrum wheel: Coopworth and alpaca roving, being spun for a vest for N.
Matchless wheel: Cormo, being spun because it’s lovely

Bosworth bird’s eye maple spindle: AbbyBatt, for a gift

Bosworth purpleheart featherweight spindle: Corgi Hill Farm fibre, gorgeous!
Bins of fibre from Rhinebeck, including this amazingly lovely fluff from Gale’s Art:


Bins of extra balls of yarn for current projects
Box of Indigodragonfly custom dyed yarn, awaiting inspiration

Office:
October 2010 Spunky Club Fibre, next to my laptop because it’s so pretty I’m fondling admiring it
Ugly yarn being re-skeined before being sent to Jen at Holiday Yarns for over-dyeing
Wheatgrass Truffle Cardigan, Left Front in progress
Front Band detail

Kitchen:
Yarn-free!

Hallway:
Spindle rack with several empty spindles.
Hatchtown Spinimal (top whorl version) with Jesh Batt in progress

Family room:
Red cedar Bossie with hand-blended fibre, for a gift

Featherweight Cardigan, in Holiday Yarns laceweight, color: Sea Glass, for Jen


Hoodie for Liz in progress


Mittens in progress (Fiddlehead Mittens in alpaca)
Sock in progress (my own pattern, Indigodragonfly MCN)

Bathroom:
Yarn-free! But handknit socks are drying in there…

Bedroom:
Ugly yarn, ready to be over-dyed by Jen

Craft room:
OH C’MON. DON’T MAKE ME GO IN THERE.

Basement:
No yarn down there, as far as I know. (It’s all in bins in the craft room.)

The front porch, back deck, and storage shed:
Certified yarn-free.

OH WAIT. I was just in the kitchen, pouring coffee, and I looked up to find this:

That’s my Cricket loom, with a half-woven knotted pile bag from Sara Lamb‘s class in progress.

This concludes the Fibre Tour of my house. Thanks for coming!

P.S.S.T. Want to read a post about my Rhinebeck adventures? Sure you do.

About sandi

Knitter. Spinner. Quilter. UFO Wrangler. Sometime bead artist and weaver. Two toddler-age kittens, 1 permakitten, 2 grownup cats, 1 beloved dog angel, 1 spouse, 1 crazy life. I suppose that the 5 cats make me 1 crazy cat lady; OTOH, apparently, yes, I do need that much feline supervision.
This entry was posted in Knitting, Spinning. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to i can knit if i want to

  1. Bonnie says:

    Thanks for the tour! As I always say, it’s a better hobby than crack cocaine.

    Like

  2. Naomi says:

    Your living room has *way* too much open floorspace to seem hoarder-y.

    Like

  3. georg says:

    If you can see more floor than a path, and there is a place to sit, you are Not a hoarder. You, my friend, are a collector. There’s a difference.

    Like

  4. Rachel says:

    I wants to come live at your house. how you manage to have works in progress out and about with cat and dog I do not know but I greatly admire.

    you are not a hoarder — you are an artist and an artist must have supplies for whenever inspiration strikes

    Like

  5. Heather says:

    Totally normal for a fiberista. Probably neater than average, even. It sounds like it would be an awesome place to have a knitting group night, too!

    Like

  6. april says:

    thank you for sharing a little glimpse of your life/passion, paca princess. your 2nd picture with the chandelier over your head looks like you are wearing a beautiful, dazzling, shiny tiara! you really are a princess.

    Like

  7. I, too, want to come live at your house. I want to learn to spin! I want to have your toys! I have plenty of fabric and yarn and knit (A LOT!) but nothing like the crafts room you wouldn’t show us! @(o|o)@

    Like

  8. molly says:

    please, ma’am, may i walk in through your front door? i have dog biscuits in my pockets at all times, i’m covered in fur from my three cats and i would swoon to see your living room – much less your craft room….
    actually, my house looks much the same except that i have yet to succumb to the spinning fever (although i’ve opened negotiations with my favorite spinner for lessons…) love your house! you rock!

    Like

  9. Susan says:

    What could be more lovely than being surrounded by things you love and projects in progress? My house looks a lot like yours. Homes with everything matching and co-ordinated, perfectly clean and tidy feel sterile to me. I like a home to look lived in and loved.

    Like

  10. Lynn says:

    I DO TOO WANNA SEE THE CRAFT ROOM!!!

    Like

  11. Mardi says:

    I WANNA SEE THE CRAFT ROOM TOO!!!

    Like

  12. Lisa says:

    The only thing I see wrong in the first picture is that someone left his/her boots lying in front of the couch. That is NOT where those belong. Tsk.

    And I vote for a tour of the craft room too!

    Like

  13. Bettina says:

    the oddest thing in your pix is the “crown” on your head in your headshot:)) other than that I’d say you love fibres and yarns and animals of all kinds, nothing weird in my eyes. you might have one wheel more than me – but you sure have more free floor visible! so, maybe your household is only odd to people, who don’t spin/knit/dye… btw, love your spinoff project, just got it for translation into german:))

    Like

  14. sarah says:

    Of course you can. Also spin or clean house, whatever your heart desires. Except

    I WANNA SEE THE CRAFT ROOM!

    Like

  15. Tamara says:

    The living room? Perhaps they were afraid of breaking some machinery? Hard to know.

    What I want to know (besides what the CRAFT ROOM looks like) is what on earth are all those markers doing on your socks???

    Like

Leave a comment