in which wiseheart still knits


It’s true. Fortunately, I have proof:

Zoë the cat is Not Amused

Zoë the cat is Not Amused

Hm. Not the best model, perhaps; she does tend to have An Attitude.

Plus, methinks she is getting ready to shred that lovely yarn to pieces.

Jen worked hard to dye that yarn.

Shredded yarn would make Jen VERY unhappy. I love Jen and want Jen to be happy. Therefore….perhaps I ought to rethink.

How about this one?

Shambala sm

That’s our rocking horse, Shambayla. She is rather easy-going, and seems quite happy to be wearing the bottom skirt section of the Mirabor Cardi, my latest project.

Designer: Hilary Smith Callis, AKA The Yarniad.

Yarn: Holiday Yarns Super Sheep DK, 100% superwash merino, in one of my favourite colours, Persephone.

Here’s the general idea of what it might look like when it grows up:

Mirabor Cardi

Pretty, simple, extremely useful, and comfortable. What more could one ask from a pattern? (Thank you, O Yarniad!)

What else are you knitting, O Sandi of Pacaville?

Believe it or not, for about two months in June and July, that was the only knitting project I was working on. Moving house and back problems put a tiny cramp in my crafting life. At some point in the endless parade of Boxen and Cheap Tape Rollers, I realized that I was just not going to be able to wrangle more than one project until things settled down a bit. I had to Make A Choice. (OH THE DRAMAZ!)

Thus, as I went from room to room packing everything, I tossed any on-the-loose project bags, WIPs, or UFO’s into a largish cardboard box. (Those wee green aliens in their cute little UFO’s, manohman! They grumble and chitter and complain so MUCH I almost put a cat in there with them to make them behave.)

Tim getting ready to do battle with the wee green aliens and their UFO's

Tim getting ready to do battle with the wee green aliens and their UFO’s

The box, despite being large, needed a bit of creative arranging before it would close. I will note that I had taken out all the needles, leaving neat lifelines woven through the stitches (I am not as stupid as I used to be, thank heavens), along with little notes such as Addi Lace, size U.S. 3/3.25 mm, 36″.  However, before I taped the box shut, I sorted through its contents until I found that elusive Thing every knitter yearns to find: The Perfect On-The-Go Project.

P.S. Really, WordPress? Really? You will not let me type “3.25mm” without adding a conversion equivalent to every instance? I shall so be hunting down this little “feature” and turning it off….

In Search Of…

(Anyone else remember this fun TV series narrated in part by Spock, er, I mean, Leonard Nimoy, LLAP?)

People’s individual requirements for The Perfect OTG Project differ, of course, but there are commonalities:

  1. The majority of the knitting itself much be utterly and completely mindless.
  2. One ought to be able to get thorough large swaths of the knitting without having to refer to charts, written instructions, or elaborate forms of Keeping Track of Where One Is.
  3. A small fancy stitch pattern, with a short repeat and an easily memorable rhythm, may be tolerable and even desirable, just to keep one from falling asleep.
  4. Preferably, one ought not to have to use fourteen 5″ double-pointed glove needles and six different colours in one row to get the job done.
  5. Project must fit into a standard project bag which can then be easily shoved into purse, day bag, beach tote, or glove compartment.

Many knitters choose socks as their go-to about-town knitting project. I decided against socks, for the simple reasons that (a) I feared more than one needle would be a disaster just asking to happen; (b) I strongly dislike the one-needle magic loop method of knitting socks; and (c) I had just ripped out all my sock UFOs in order to safely store all my lovely wood dpns for the move. (Don’t worry, there weren’t any earth-shatteringly gorgeous pre-socks in there, I promise.)

As one does, I decided none of my present projects were Worthy, and so I cast on for a completely new project, the red Mirabor cardi.

The silly part of this story is…

I wrote this entire post two weeks ago. I pressed Draft instead of Publish, got distracted, and didn’t realize until a week or so later that it wasn’t up on the blog. Know what the Big Clue was? Absolutely no comments whatsoever. None.

That is sooooo not like you folks 😉

CHISPAS

  • Is it happy where you are? This guy developed a way to measure the happiness/unhappiness of a particular location-based on the last 100 Tweets sent from within a 1 mile radius. Right now, for me here at home, the Happy Index is zero. Does this mean no one within a mile of me ever Tweets? Or so seldom as to be negligible? Interesting.
  • I almost feel guilty for sending you to this uh, kinda sorta gender-stereotypical website. Almost. Well, OK, no. I don’t feel one bit guilty about sending you there. It’s just too damn funny. (P.S. Could someone who knows artwork better than I tell me if these are real artworks or Photoshop magic? Wait, no. I want them to be real, so please don’t spoil my Happy Place. Thank you.
  • Oh, no. Turns out that particular blogger/essayist has a whole series of Art Commentaries. Sir Gawain and the Green Knight, anyone? (Warning: Most of this could be considered offensive to at least five people within a mile of you. Tweet about your outrage and influence your town’s Happy Score!)
  • Because everyone deserves a list of photos of the 30 Cutest Baby Animals As of Today Anyway. Yes, I could have spread these out over 30 posts, but why wait? Besides, this is major smiley food, here, my friends. Enjoy.

 Someday, I might just publish a version of a post using all the Official Spelling and  Grammar Check suggestions instead of whatever I myself had written. Hilarious.

More pictures next time, promise. When one is working on only one knitting project, one can only take so many photos before insanity sets in. (Too late?)

peace and laughter,
Sandi

About sandi

Knitter. Spinner. Quilter. UFO Wrangler. Sometime bead artist and weaver. 2 year-old kittens, 1 permakitten, 2 grownup cats, 1 beloved dog angel, 1 spouse, 1 crazy life. I suppose that the 5 cats make me 1 crazy cat lady; OTOH, apparently, yes, I do need that much feline supervision.
This entry was posted in Knitting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to in which wiseheart still knits

  1. Vicki says:

    OMG! You seem in a much better place. I sure hope so.

  2. Arla Schmaltz says:

    Sorting, boxing, more sorting, more boxing…AND knitting, and knitting, and thinking designs, and travels!!! sounds like you’ve been busy, and much happier!!! Congratulations again on the move to your own home, and the fun has begun!!!
    Blessings!!!

  3. Jerri says:

    So funny! Thanks

  4. Deb says:

    I want to see more of that sweater project. It’s beautiful.

  5. Molly says:

    Loooovvvvve Tim. Yup. And love you too, Sandi! Missed you. Hope the move is going well.

  6. Barbara says:

    I hate moving although I know we have one more move left before we’re the ones in the box. Isn’t it great there are different methods to knit. Personally I wouldn’t knit socks any way BUT magic loop toe up 2 at a time. So glad to hear from you. Can’t wait to see pics of your new home and studio.

  7. Lee says:

    Sure glad you are finding your Happy Place, Sandi!

    I’ve been doing crescent shawlettes on a small circular lately, using up the odds and ends of sock yarn from various other projects. I can get almost to the end before I switch from 16″ to 29″ to do the last little bit and bind off, and the whole thing fits into a quart-sized clear zipping plastic bag. It’s very portable and relatively mindless, too, which is one of my chief requirements right now.

  8. Meg says:

    Lovely to find you are getting settled, and thanks for sharing the wonderful surprises from your garden. I like the Mirabor cardi very much. Simple, and flattering for those of us with busts. I think I would do away with the ribbing at the waist, though. To me, it detracts from the overall design….
    I haven’t read the pattern, and if the ribbing is required for shaping, I think I would probably shape comparably at the back, still eliminating the ribbing.

Leave a Reply

